About Us. . .

A general service area is a geographical division. The State of Alaska is a single general service area, Area 02. The Area 02 Committee serves essentially as a steering committee for the Alaska AA Fellowship.

The Area 02 Committee consists of elected Officers and District Committee Members (DCMs), and the chairpersons of twelve standing committees. Area 02’s standing committee structure is closely aligned to that of the General Service Conference committee structure

Area 02 meets only in assembly – the Area 02 Committee members and General Service Representatives (GSRs) are elected by their home groups across the State. “The area assembly is the mainspring of the Conference structure – the democratic voice of the movement expressing itself.” (as noted in the AA Service Manual)

To conduct its business, Area 02 meets in assembly four times each panel, or two-year period. The Assembly selects host districts in advance, any district wishing to host an assembly is eligible to bid a locale within the district. Voting members of each assembly, in accordance with the Area 02 Structure and Procedures Guidelines, are all currently serving GSRs, DCMs and Area 02 Officers.

In assembly, reports are heard and area affairs are discussed. In the fall of odd-numbered years, the Area 02 Election Assembly convenes to elect new officers, an alternate delegate and the Area 02 Delegate to the General Service Conference. In even numbered years, an Area 02 Roundup is held, a Fellowship gathering at which no business is conducted.